Page Menu

The Educational Recognition Awards

The first Educational Recognition Awards ceremony was held in 1999, envisioned by an ad hoc faculty group as a means of reaffirming education as the founding and primary mission of the campus. The event is characterized by recognition of educational excellence in all three schools, a celebration of the collaboration between the three schools and pride in the dedication, passion and creativity of faculty. Recipients are nominated and chosen by their faculty colleagues; students also participate in the nominating process within the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and the Graduate School of Nursing. The awards are presented by the deans of each school at an event held toward the end of the academic year.

2019 Recipients

Graduate School of Nursing 

GSN Dean’s Award

Donna Perry, PhD, RN

GSN Distinguished Faculty Awards 

Mary Fischer, PhD, WHNP-BC

Jean Boucher, PhD, RN, ANP-BC

Donna Perry, PhD, RN

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences 

GSBS Faculty Awards 

For outstanding contribution to curricular development 

Christine Ulbright, PhD

Jill Zitzewitz, Phd

For outstanding research mentoring and commitment to student professional advancement

Craig Ceol, PhD

Dorothy Schafer, PhD

For outstanding contributions to trainee mentoring and/or professional advancement 
by a postdoctoral associate

Elisa Donnard, PhD

For outstanding contributions in the lecture and classroom settings

Sharina Person, PhD

School of Medicine 

Outstanding Medical Educator Awards

Kate Daniello, MD
Susan B. Gagliardi, PhD

Educational Achievement “Star” Award

Linda Cragin, MS

2018-2019 DSF Course Dircetors Team
Christopher Cerniglia, DO
Mana Das, MD
Lela Giannaris, PhD
Julie Jonassen, PhD

Resident/Fellow Award
Veronica Torres, MD

Dean’s Award: Lamar Soutter Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Medical Education
Christine Woolf, MD

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring

W. Peter Metz, MD , Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics


 The Last Lecture

Presentation of The Last Lecture by the recipient of the Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Teaching was added to the event program in 2011. Medal recipients are nominated by the faculty and selected by the Chancellor. Criteria for this honor describe having fostered students’ personal, intellectual and professional development.


“Bloom Where you are planted. My path to UMMS"

Janet Fraser Hale, PhD, MA, MS, RN, FNP, Professor of Nursing and Family Medicine

Mark your calendars!

Next year's ceremony will take place in April 2020 in the ASC Auditorium on University Campus in Worcester, MA from 4-6 p.m. The Last Lecture will be given by the recipient of the 2019 Chancellor's Medal for Distinguished Teaching, which will be announced at the Convovation Ceremony on September 12, 2019

2019 Educational Recognition Awards

If you missed it, click below to view the entire ceremony, including  Dr. Janet Fraser Hale's Last Lecture, "Bloom where you arte planted. My path to UMMS."