Student Highlights

The Opioid Project: Changing Perceptions through Art and Storytelling

In a collaborative effort between UMMS MS2 Hillary Mullan (who worked with the Joint Coalition of Health for her population health clerkship in October 2017), the Fitchburg Art Museum, the Joint Coalition on Health, and the Healing Story Collaborative, The Fitchburg Gallery will feature The Opioid Project: Changing Perceptions through Art and Storytelling.

The gallery will feature art collages made by people whose lives were affected by Opioid addiction. Attendees are invited to experience the art and listen to the stories of the artists. It will be open throughout the month of February with a special gallery opening on February 4, 2018.

To preview the art and stories via the online app:

To RSVP for the opening reception and program:

Latest News

  • Martin Luther King Jr. tribute celebrates service at UMMS

    The life and words of Martin Luther King. Jr. resonated at UMass Medical School on Monday, Jan. 22, during the annual event highlighting the many ways in which members of the UMMS and UMass Memorial community enact his legacy of service.

  • UMass Medical School Chancellor asserts commitment to diversity

    Chancellor Michael F. Collins reflected on the values of diversity, civility and inclusion; the importance of oath-bound professions; and the ideas and ideals that make America a beacon of hope around the world in the Jan. 21 Sunday Worcester Telegram & Gazette.

  • Erica Ollmann Saphire to deliver 18th Fred Fay Lecture on Jan. 30

    Erica Ollmann Saphire, PhD, of the Scripps Research Institute will present the 18th annual Fredric S. Fay Memorial Lecture, Antibodies against Ebola and Lassa: A Global Collaboration, on Tuesday, Jan. 30, at 3 p.m. in the Albert Sherman Center Auditorium.

Welcome Message

Chimienti imageWelcome to the University of Massachusetts Medical School, and to the Office of Student Affairs!  We are delighted to share this incredible journey with you, providing you with a supportive learning environment and guiding you through your years of medical training. Our team works in partnership with your Learning Communities Mentors and the Office of Undergraduate Medical Education to ensure that you receive the academic and personal support that you need in order to meet your educational goals, and to holistically support your professional development as a physician.

Our office coordinates many events that will be memorable milestones in your career development, including the White Coat Ceremony, the Second Year Oath Ceremony, and of course, Match Day and Graduation! Along the way to each of these events, we are here to assist you with planning your pre-clinical electives, Core Clinical Experiences, Advanced Studies electives both at home and away, transitional experiences throughout your training, and individualized career pathways, including 5th Year Options, and if needed, leaves of absence.  Your well-being and career balance are of paramount importance to our team; as such, we are committed to working with you to support you throughout your training.

Once again, welcome to UMass!  Please do not hesitate to reach out to our team with any questions about student life at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

Wishing you well,

Sonia Nagy Chimienti, MD
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
School of Medicine

Mindfulness & Wellness

▴ Back To Top
Section Menu To Top