Second Year Oath affirms commitment for medical students

March 05, 2012

On Thursday, March 8, the School of Medicine class of 2014 will take part in a ceremony intended to reaffirm their commitment to medicine as they proceed from the classroom to the clinic in their medical education. At the Second Year Oath Ceremony, members of the class will recite an oath that they have written themselves as a group, hear from a UMMS faculty member they have chosen as someone who inspires them and present awards to outstanding medical educators at UMMS. The event, beginning at 5:30 p.m. at Mechanics Hall in Worcester, has become a popular tradition for second-year medical students, and to their families and friends as well. 

This year’s faculty speaker will be Christina H. Hernon, MD, assistant professor of emergency medicine. Outstanding Medical Educator Awards will be presented to Mark Dershwitz, MD, PhD, professor of anesthesiology and biochemistry & molecular pharmacology; Susan B. Gagliardi, PhD, professor of cell biology and neurology; Anne M. Gilroy, MA, associate professor of surgery and cell biology; William E. Royer, PhD, professor of biochemistry & molecular pharmacology; and Vijay Vanguri, MD, assistant professor of pathology. The awards will be presented by Student Body Committee co-presidents Kathleen H. Goble and Sara-Grace Reynolds, both of whom are members of the class of 2014.

Look for coverage of the event on Friday, March 9, on UMassMedNow.

Related links on UMassMedNow:
Students vow to uphold principles
Second-year medical students commit to working ‘for the benefit of patients’

For the Media
▴ Back To Top
Section Menu To Top