Campus Alert: Find the latest UMMS campus news and resources at

Page Menu

Current Members

Michelle Kelliher

Michelle Kelliher, PhD

Joined the faculty of the University of Massachusetts Medical School in 1998.

BA (1981), Smith College, Northhampton, MA; MS (1985), Yale University, New Haven, CT; Ph.D (1991), Tufts Sackler School of Biomedical Sciences, Boston, MA. Postdoctoral training in the Department of Genetics, Harvard Medical School in the laboratory of Dr. Philip Leder.

Awards and Science: Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Special Fellow Award (1998), Sidney Kimel Cancer Scholar Award (2000-2002), Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Scholar Award (2003-2008) and Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Stohlman Scholar Award (2008). Dr. Kelliher is a member of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Career Development Review Panel, a member of the NIH Cancer Genetics Study Section (2008-2012) as well as a reviewer for the Charles A. King Trust Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and the Hood Foundation Research Award.

Kayleigh Gallagher

Kayleigh Gallagher 

Graduate Student
Lab member since 2016

Kayleigh did her undergraduate training at the University of Connecticut where she received her Bachelor's degree in Biology. Kayleigh was an undergraduate intern in Dr. Jennifer Benanti's lab, before being accepted as a P.h.D student in the cancer biology program. 



Kevin O'Connor

Graduate Student

Lab member since 2018

Graduated from Bowdoin College in 2011 with a B.A. in Biology. Received his M.S. in Medical Sciences from Boston University School of Medicine in 2016. Prior to coming to UMass, Kevin studied DNA repair in Dr. Alan D'Andrea's lab at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

Justine Roderick

Justine Roderick, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow
Lab member since 2011

Graduated from University of Massachusetts Amherst (Amherst, MA) in 2006 with a B.S. in Veterinary & Animal Sciences. Received a Ph.D. from University of Massachusetts Amherst (Amherst, MA) in 2011. Justine received postdoctoral support from the Cancer Biology T32 Training Grant. She was also a recipient of an American Cancer Society Postdocatoral Fellowship Award (2013-2016).


Sakiko Suzuki, MD

Instructor, Dept of Medicine
Lab member since 2018.

Graduated from Michigan Tech University with a BS in Biomedical Engineering.  Sakiko received her MD from Wayne State University School of Medicine.  She is a recipient of the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation’s Physician-Scientist Training Award (2017-2021).

   Boyao (Joanna) Zhang
 Graduate Student