Page Menu

2019 Keynote Address - Theo Meyer, MD, PhD


Theo E. Meyer, MD, PhD, is professor of medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School and the director of the advanced heart failure program at UMass Memorial Medical Center, where he is interim director of the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine.

Dr. Meyer, the 2018 recipient of the Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Clinical Excellence, has more than four decades of academic and clinical experience in the fields of cardiovascular disease, advanced heart failure and transplant cardiology. His current clinical interests include treating cardiomyopathy, congestive heart failure and valvular heart disease.

Dr. Meyer received his Doctor of Medicine degree from University of Pretoria in South Africa and a Doctor of Philosophy degree in cardiovascular physiology from Oxford University.

He began his career at the University of Witwatersrand – JG Strijdom Hospital in Johannesburg, South Africa, where rose to become professor and head of cardiology and chief cardiologist at Johannesburg Hospital. In 1993, Dr. Meyer joined UMass Medical School as associate professor of medicine and the founding director of a new Heart Failure Clinic at its teaching hospital; his approach—highly innovative at the time—focused on continuity of care and treatment of heart failure as a chronic health issue, rather than an acute event. From this view came a number of patient-focused changes in care, including same-day access for appointments and telemedicine. From 1998 to 2006, he was the director of the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory at UMass Memorial Medical Center, where he has been clinical chief of cardiology since 2008.

Dr. Meyer has published widely in the field of cardiovascular medicine, including more than 100 peer-reviewed journal publications and six chapters on the UptoDate online clinical decision resource. In 2015, he and colleagues published an influential account of the development of the heart and vascular service line approach to cardiac care in Academic Medicine. He has been recognized numerous times by his department, the medical school and UMass Memorial for outstanding clinical performance, for service and for his teaching, including being named Teacher of the Year in 2011.