Chancellor's Medals 2016

  • David Hatem, MD, professor of medicine, received the Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Teaching.
  • Steven Reppert, MD, the Higgins Family Professor of Neuroscience and distinguished professor of neurobiology, received the Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Scholarship.

  • Deborah Harmon HinesPhD, professor of radiology and vice provost for school services,received the Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Service.

  • David Drachman, MD, professor of neurology, is the recipient of the Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Clinical Excellence. Dr. Drachman was unable to attend the ceremony; the award will be presented to him at a later date.

Mark your calendars!

This year's Convocation/Investiture Ceremony will take place: 

Wednesday, Sept. 13, 2017, 4 p.m.
Albert Sherman Center Auditorium

Reception following:  

Albert Sherman Center Cube

Convocation Ceremony

UMass Medical School celebrates the beginning of each new academic year by coming together as a campus community to reflect on our shared values and our vocation as caregivers, researchers, teachers, students and community members. Convocation and related events are traditionally scheduled for the third week in September. 

Convocation Ceremony

Convocation is characterized by a celebration of faculty. Highlights of the ceremony include recognition of newly tenured and recently promoted faculty and announcement of the recipients of the Chancellor's Medals for distinguished teaching, distinguished scholarship, distinguished service and distinguished clinical excellence. These recognitions are part of the Chancellor’s keynote address, which emphasizes the accomplishments of the previous year and the challenges for the coming year.

Chancellor's Medal Winners


Check back here the day of the event to access the link to a live webcast.


▴ Back To Top
Section Menu To Top