Graduate School of Nursing recognizes scholarship at annual dinner

By Sandra Gray

UMass Medical School Communications

June 02, 2017
  • GSN alumna and Secretary of the Massachusetts Executive Office of Elder Affairs Alice Bonner, PhD, delivers the 3rd annual Lillian R. Goodman Lecture in Nursing.
  • Chancellor Michael F. Collins presents the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Nursing to Mary Fortunato-Habib, MS, RN.
  • Dean Joan Vitello presents the GSN Dean’s Award to Stephanie Griggs, MSN, RN.
  • Dean Vitello with Krystina Habib, RN, recipient of the Annie Vigeant Worcester City Hospital Scholarship
  • GSN Dean and Professor emeritus Paulette Seymour-Route with Margaret Donovan, MS, RN, the Kathleen H. Miller DNP Scholarship recipient
  • Dr. Seymour-Route awards the Paulette Seymour-Route Scholarship to Alexander Menard, MS, RN.
  • Dean Vitello and Maureen Villars, RN, the Suzanne T. Sullivan Scholarship recipient

The Graduate School of Nursing Class of 2017 gathered with alumni and faculty for the 2nd annual dinner and graduation celebration at UMass Medical School on Thursday, June 1.

The celebration featured four new awards: the GSN Dean’s Award; the Carol Bova Scholarship; the Paulette Seymour-Route Scholarship; and the Jane McCue Magner Award.

“Our vision speaks to the faculty and staff’s devotion to improve the health of people through the discovery from research and scholarly projects, while preserving the dignity of those they care for, teach and interact with,” said GSN Dean Joan Vitello. “Our GSN mission remains the same: to prepare nurse scientists, advanced practice nurses, nurse educators and nurse leaders who together will improve the health care of the people of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and beyond.”

Prior to the dinner and awards ceremony, distinguished GSN alumna Alice Bonner, PhD, delivered the third annual Lillian R. Goodman Graduate Nursing Lecture. Dr. Bonner, secretary of the Massachusetts Executive Office of Elder Affairs, presented “Making Massachusetts the Most Age-Friendly State: The Role of Nurse Leaders.” The topic is especially timely and relevant for the many 2017 graduates who have pursued doctoral and master’s degrees focused on gerontology and nursing leadership tracks of study.

Award recipients are:

Chancellor’s Award
Mary Fortunato-Habib, DNP

GSN Dean’s Award
Stephanie Griggs, MSN, RN

Carol Bova Scholarship
Joanne Lewis, MS

Lillian R. Goodman Award
Jennifer Berube, MSN, RN

Lynne Foster Davidson Scholarship
Dina Costa, RN

Annie Vigeant Worcester City Hospital Scholarship
Krystina Habib, RN

Kathleen H. Miller DNP Scholarship
Margaret Donovan, MS, RN

Paulette Seymour-Route Scholarship
Alexander Menard, MS, RN

Suzanne T. Sullivan Scholarship
Maureen Villars, RN

Mary K. Alexander Academic Achievement and Leadership Award
Kaileigh Lavin, RN

Academic Achievement and Leadership Award
Melanie Faust, RN

Mary Kinnear Raymond Award
Kimberly Marsh, MS, RN

Lucie D. Russell Briefcase Awards
Family Nurse Practitioner Track – Caille Souza, MSN, RN
Adult Gerontology/Acute Care Track – Kasia Dodman, MSN, RN
Agult Gerontology/Primary Care Track – Hilary Dulin, MSN, RN

Community Preceptor Awards
Adult Gerontology/Primary Care Track—Amanda Clancy, MSN, and Erik Garcia, MD
Adult Gerontology/Acute Care Track—Steve McKinley, MSN, and Laura Lima, MSN
Family Nurse Practitioner Track—Michael Lyons, MD, and Maria Heidenreich, MSN

2017 UMMMC Outstanding Preceptor in Critical Care Award
Elizabeth LaChapelle, MSN

Outstanding Nurse Practitioner Student in Critical Care Award
Sarina Kimball, BSN, RN

Jane McCue Magner Award
Emily Howieson, RN

Commencement Speaker
Michele Griswold, PhD 

For the Media
▴ Back To Top
Section Menu To Top