Luban and Morrison elected fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology

Date Posted: Sunday, February 23, 2014

Luban Morrison

By Sandra Gray

UMass Medical School Communications

UMass Medical School scientists Jeremy Luban, MD, and Trudy Morrison, PhD, have been elected fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology for their scientific achievement and original contributions to the field of microbiology.

Elected in a highly selective peer-review process, Drs. Luban and Morrison join more than 2,700 AAM fellows of the academy, which is the honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology, the world’s oldest and largest life sciences organization.

Dr. Luban is the David L. Freelander Memorial Professor in HIV/AIDS Research, professor of molecular medicine, and co-principal investigator of the NIH-funded UMass Center for Aids Research. His research focuses on understanding host cell factors that contribute to HIV viral replication to inform the development of drugs and vaccines targeting HIV virus infections and other disease states. In 2012 the NIH/NIDA named him an Avant-Garde Awardee for HIV/AIDS research. 

Dr. Morrison, professor of microbiology & physiological systems, focuses her research on the structure and function of viral glycoproteins and the mechanisms of enveloped virus membrane fusion and assembly. She received the Medical School’s Sarah Stone Excellence in Education Award in 2003 and was elected to membership in the American Academy for the Advancement of Science in 2012.

Luban and Morrison join these UMMS faculty as AAM fellows:

  • Roger J. Davis, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, H. Arthur Smith Chair in Cancer Research and professor of molecular medicine and biochemistry & molecular pharmacology
  • James Reid Gilmore, PhD, professor of biochemistry & molecular pharmacology
  • Douglas T. Golenbock, MD, professor of medicine and microbiology & physiological systems
  • Allan S. Jacobson, PhD, Gerald L. Haidak, MD, and Zelda S. Haidak Professor of Cell Biology and chair and professor of microbiology & physiological systems
  • Thoru Pederson, PhD, the Vitold Arnett Professor of Cell & developmental biology and professor of biochemistry & molecular pharmacology
  • George B. Witman, PhD, the George F. Booth Chair in the Basic Sciences and professor of cell & developmental biology

Learn more at the ASM website.


▴ Back To Top
Section Menu To Top