Campus alert status is green: For the latest UMMS campus alert status, news and resources, visit umassmed.edu/coronavirus

Search Close Search
Page Menu

Staff and Faculty

iCELS-staff-interdisciplinary-team-diverse-inclusive-support-learners-competencies.jpgThe field of simulation is constantly evolving. A broad base formed by our interdisciplinary team brings together insights in clinical care, education methodologies, simulation technologies, and patient communication strategies, to keep pace with and create a launchpad for better outcomes through simulation. Our ultimate goal is increased patient safety and expert patient care.

An Interdisciplinary Team in Action

Melissa Fischer, MD MEd
Executive Director, iCELS
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education (OUME), Curriculum Innovation and The interprofesional Center for Experiential Learning & Simulation (iCELS)
melissa.fischer@umassmed.edu

Kathleen Altomare
Staff Accountant
kathleen.altomare@umassmed.edu

Tom Bohigian
Simulation Technician
Thomas.Bohigian1@umassmed.edu

Melissa Puliafico
Director, Educational Affairs
Melissa.Puliafico@umassmed.edu

Sylvia Stanhope
Administrative Manager
sylvia.stanhope@umassmed.edu

Jason T. Stepien 
Simulation Technician
Jason.Stepien@umassmed.edu

Kendra Vandervalk
Education Program Specialist
kendra.vandervalk@umassmed.edu

Jorge Yarzebski, BA, CHSE, NRP, FP-C
Simulation Educator, Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator
jorge.yarzebskijr@umassmed.edu

Anne Weaver, RN, MS, CHSE
Simulation Educator, Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator
Anne.Weaver@umassmed.edu


Partners

Laura Cardin
Training Coordinator, Surgical Skills
laura.cardin@umassmed.edu

Mary Zanetti, EdD
Senior Director, Institutional Research, Evaluation & Assessment
mary.zanetti@umassmed.edu


Center for Academic Achievement (CAA): Clinical Students

Tracy Kedian, MD
Director, Center for Academic Achievement
Assistant Dean, Academic Achievement
Tracy.Kedian@umassmed.edu

Nneka Onwubueke, MD
Clinical Mentor, Center for Academic Achievement
Nneka.Onwubueke@umassmemorial.org

Deanna Richmond, MD
Clinical Mentor, Center for Academic Achievement
Deanna.Richmond@umassmemorial.org

Lisa Shay
Project Coordinator
Lisa.Shay@umassmed.edu

Visit the CAA Website

Executive Committee

Executive Committee

Faculty Committee

Faculty Committee

Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee

Simulation Interest Group (SimIG)

Simulation Interest Group (SimIG)

The Simulation Interest Group (SimIG) is a UMass Medical School on-campus student organization that was formed to organize events to practice clinical skills in a low-risk simulation environment. SimIG's mission is to bolster medical education and create a generation of better-prepared future physicians that are competent in procedural skills. It aims to integrate more simulation into the medical school curriculum by promoting early exposure to hands-on experience in learning and refining procedural techniques. SimIG events are geared towards teaching pre-clinical students procedural skills that can then be utilized in real world clinical settings, with an emphasis on providing better healthcare to underserved populations.

SimIG Advisors 

Melissa Fischer, MD, MEd
Anne Weaver, RN, MS, CHSE

Current SimIG Student Leadership 

Jeremiah Hyslip School of Medicine Class of 2023
Olivia Sears School of Medicine Class of 2023
Christopher Zoppo School of Medicine Class of 2023

Recent Past SimIG Student Leadership 

Meghan Harrington, School of Medicine Class of 2022
Trenton Taros, School of Medicine Class of 2022
Sendy Ha, School of Medicine Class of 2021
Harsha Kumar, School of Medicine Class of 2021
Scott Place, School of Medicine Class of 2021

Standardized Patient Trainers

Standardized Patient Trainers

Eileen Bouchard
Standardized Patient Trainer
eileen.bouchard@umassmed.edu

Randy Gates
Standardized Patient Trainer Certification in Process

Jenny Ling Hui Loh
Standardized Patient Trainer Certification in Process

Crystaltina Montagna
Standardized Patient Trainer Certification in Process

Jody Poland
Standardized Patient Trainer
jody.poland@umassmed.edu

Donna Richardson
Standardized Patient Trainer
donna.richardson2@umassmed.edu

Standardized Patient Trainer Consultants

Sarah Davis
Standardized Patient since 1999
iCELS SP Trainer since 2012

Laurie LaBrecque
Standardized Patient since 1985
iCELS SP Trainer since 2005

Sarah Rothery
Standardized Patient since 2001
iCELS SP Trainer since 2014

Support Team

Support Team

iCELS Reception

Main Contact: icels@umassmed.edu
Carmela Field
James Porter
Jomary Ramos
Nina Sweares

Sim Lab Assistant

Stephanie Carlson

Virtual Event Monitors

Eric Anderson
Carmela Field
James Porter
Mariela Matsumura