Campus Alert: Find the latest UMMS campus news and resources at umassmed.edu/coronavirus

Search Close Search
Page Menu

Staff and Faculty

The field of simulation is constantly evolving. A broad base formed by our interdisciplinary team brings together insights in clinical care, education methodologies, simulation technologies, and patient communication strategies, to keep pace with and create a launchpad for better outcomes through simulation. Our ultimate goal is increased patient safety and expert patient care.

An Interdisciplinary Team in Action

Melissa Fischer, MD MEd
Executive Director, iCELS
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education (OUME)
Curriculum Innovation and The interprofesional Center for Experiential Learning & Simulation
melissa.fischer@umassmed.edu

Kathleen Altomare
Staff Accountant
kathleen.altomare@umassmed.edu

Michele Bouchard
Educational Program Coordinator
michele.bouchard@umassmed.edu

Melissa Puliafico
Director, Educational Affairs
Melissa.Puliafico@umassmed.edu

Sylvia Stanhope
Administrative Manager
sylvia.stanhope@umassmed.edu

Jason T. Stepien 
Simulation Technician
Jason.Stepien@umassmed.edu

Kendra Vandervalk
Education Program Specialist
kendra.vandervalk@umassmed.edu

Jorge Yarzebski, BA, NRP, FP-C
Simulation Educator, Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator
jorge.yarzebskijr@umassmed.edu

Anne Weaver, RN, MS
Simulation Educator, Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator
Anne.Weaver@umassmed.edu

Kyle Weimer
Simulation Technician
Kyle.Weimer@umassmed.edu


Partners

Laura Cardin
Training Coordinator, Surgical Skills
laura.cardin@umassmed.edu

Mary Zanetti, EdD
Senior Director, Institutional Research, Evaluation & Assessment
mary.zanetti@umassmed.edu


Center for Academic Achievement (CAA): Clinical Students

Tracy Kedian, MD
Director, Center for Academic Achievement
Assistant Dean, Academic Achievement
Tracy.Kedian@umassmed.edu

Nneka Onwubueke, MD
Clinical Mentor, Center for Academic Achievement
Nneka.Onwubueke@umassmemorial.org

Deanna Richmond, MD
Clinical Mentor, Center for Academic Achievement
Deanna.Richmond@umassmemorial.org

Lisa Shay
Project Coordinator
Lisa.Shay@umassmed.edu

Visit the CAA Website

Executive Committee

Executive Committee

Faculty Committee

Faculty Committee

Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee

Simulation Interest Group (SimIG)

Simulation Interest Group (SimIG)

The Simulation Interest Group (SimIG) is a UMass Medical School on-campus student organization that organizes events to practice clinical skills in a low-risk simulation environment. SimIG's mission is to bolster medical education and create a generation of better-prepared future physicians that are competent in procedural skills. It aims to integrate more simulation into the medical school curriculum by promoting early exposure to hands-on experience in learning and refining procedural techniques. SimIG events are geared towards teaching pre-clinical students procedural skills that can then be utilized in real world clinical settings, with an emphasis on providing better healthcare to underserved populations.

Current SimIG Student Leadership 

Jeremiah Hyslip School of Medicine Class of 2023
Olivia Sears School of Medicine Class of 2023
Christopher Zoppo School of Medicine Class of 2023

Past SimIG Student Leadership 

Trenton Taros, School of Medicine Class of 2022
Sendy Ha, School of Medicine Class of 2021
Harsha Kumar, School of Medicine Class of 2021
Scott Place, School of Medicine Class of 2021

Standardized Patient Trainers

Standardized Patient Trainers

Eileen Bouchard
Standardized Patient Trainer
eileen.bouchard@umassmed.edu

Laurie LaBrecque
Standardized Patient Trainer
laurance.lacbrecque@umassmed.edu

Donna Richardson
Standardized Patient Trainer
donna.richardson2@umassmed.edu

Sarah Davis
Standardized Patient Trainer
sarah.davis@umassmed.edu

Jody Poland
Standardized Patient Trainer
jody.poland@umassmed.edu

Sarah Rothery
Standardized Patient Trainer
sarah.rothery@umassmed.edu