Campus alert status is yellow: For the latest campus alert status, news and resources, visit

Search Close Search
Page Menu

UMass Chan Medical School Postdoc Association (UMPA)

The mission of the Umass Chan Medical School Postdoc Association (UMPA) is to provide a collaborative professional and social forum towards community building, networking opportunities, providing support and resources to postdocs. We aim to provide support towards developing and reaching career goals and organizing science outreach events. The UMPA will advocate for all UMass Chan postdocs and promote engagement in all aspects of postdoctoral affairs. The UMPA will be politically neutral and will actively pursue diversity inclusion and equal opportunity for all postdocs.

The UMPA aims:

  1. To foster an interconnected community by aiding social and professional interactions among postdoctoral scholars at UMass Chan.
  2. To encourage productive dialogue among postdoctoral scholars and help build a network with current and former postdocs of UMass Chan.
  3. To organize outreach events for postdocs of UMass Chan to engage with the public in scientific discussions, e.g. local school students.
  4. To support international postdocs by providing a network to help with practicalities such as housing and provide an opportunity to make new friends and share a diversity of cultural backgrounds.
  5. To collaborate with student groups and diversity interest groups to foster dialogue and interactions on campus between postdoctoral scholars and other groups at our university.
  6. To provide a consolidated forum where postdoctoral scholars can share insights in a variety of issues, such as lab techniques and career development, using collective experience in faster resolving issues that may have been previously faced by peers. If possible, insight in these issues will be shared with the appropriate administrators and faculty of the school.

UMPA Board 2021-22:

Co-presidents: Daniel O'Reilly, and Olesea Cojohari,
Vice-president: Irina Radu,
Secretary:  Ishani Dasgupta,
Treasurer: Benedikt Mortzfeld,
Social media managers: Manish Muhuri, and Matteo Bosso,
Head of communication: Shankar Ramachandran,
Co-head of outreach committee: Jennifer Ziegenfuss, and Preeti Thakur,
Co-head of socials and networking committee: Maya Spichal, and Heleen van 't Spijker,

Contact us:

Twitter          imageejbsn.png         Facebook - latest news, pictures & video - Mirror Online        Image result for linkedin