

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

James Munro, PhD, Vice Chair James.Munro@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

### FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES October 5, 2023

### INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-		Non-Voting Members-	
Sadasivam, Rajani (Chair)	Almeida, Sandra	Hamzei—Sichani, Farid	Abraham, George	Kedian, Tracy
Walker, Amy (Co-Chair)	Alvarez, Lulu/Osa-Agbontean, E.	Kakouros, Nikolaos	Acosta, Alan	Lane, Mary Ellen
Feeney, Susan (secretary)	Aronowitz, Jesse	Kamil, Syed	Ahn, Mary	Lanzillotti, Patricia
	Barsamian, Nancy	Korostelev, Andrei	Alexander, Jacob	Larkin, Anne
	Benanti, Jennifer	Li, Shaoguang	Berryman, Jennifer	Lewis, Brian
	Binder, Zach	Matheos, Theofilos	Catanzano, Tara	Linstedt, John
	Blehar, David	Menard, Alexander	Chakrabarti, Parth	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Bolon, Daniel	Mitchell,Amir	Collins, Michael	Maki, Kristen
	Bucci, Vanni	Moore, Phoebe	Dickson, Eric	Mattocks, Kristin
	Chu, Sherman	Moorman, Anne	Duncan, Marlina	McMaster, Erin
	Cleveland, Sarah/Huang, Judy	Reboldi, Andrea	Fino, Mireli	Munshi, Nishkruti
	Curtin, Carol	Sharif, Rifat	Flotte, Terence	Piorun, Mary
	Dang, Ivy/Yee, Matthew	Thomson, Travis	Garcia, Maria	Plasse, Mechelle
	Day, Philip	Timpson, Wendy	Gebhardt, James	Potts, Stacy
	Fantasia, Jennifer	Trivedi, Chinmay	Giannaris, Lela	Precourt, Justin
	Garwood, Elizabeth	Wessolosky, Mireya	Grunwald, Michael	Rosal, Milagros
	Hamar, Benjamin	Whitley, Sarah	Hayes, John	Vitello, Joan
			Johnson, Mark	

Dr. Sadasivam called the meeting to order.

# STANDING REPORTS

#### **Provost & Dean Updates**

Dr. Flotte announced that there were six endowed chairs that were approved by the Board of Trustees at their last meeting:

- Dr. Danny Winder, incoming Chair of Neurobiology, awarded the Worcester Foundation for Biomedical Research Chair I.
- Dr. Dale Greiner, Professor of Molecular Medicine, awarded the Herman G. Berkman Chair in Diabetes Care Innovation.
- Dr. Elinor Karlsson, Associate Professor of Genomics & Computational Biology, awarded the Dr. Eileen L. Berman and Stanley I. Berman Foundation Chair in Biomedical Research
- Dr. John Harris, Chair and Professor of Dermatology, awarded the Lambi and Sarah Adams Chair in Genetic Research
- Dr. Kevin Donahue, Professor of Medicine, awarded the David J. and Barbara D. Milliken Professorship in Preventive Cardiology
- Dr. Jeanette Wolfe, Professor of Emergency Medicine at UMass Chan Baystate, awarded the Joy McCann Professorship. Dr. Wolfe is the first UMass Chan Baystate faculty member to receive and endowed chair professorship.

## Dr. Flotte announced appointments to several leadership positions:

- Dr. Danny Winder- appointed as Chair of Neurobiology in January. Dr. Flotte thanked Dr. Vivian Budnik who has served as the chair of Neurobiology for the past nine years.
- Dr. Stacy Potts- appointed as the Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Clinical Affairs. Dr. Potts is succeeding Dr. Deborah Demarco. Dr. Flotte thanked Dr. Demarco for her contributions to the thousands of GME learners over the years.
- Dr. Beth McCormick- appointed as the Chair of Microbiology & Physiological Systems. Dr. McCormick is succeeding Dr. Allan Jacobson, who Dr. Flotte thanked for his service.
- Dr. Michael Stauff- appointed as the permanent Chair of Orthopedics. Dr. Stoff was serving as the interim Chair.

### Search Update-

- Director of Program in Human Genetics & Evolutionary Biology- Three finalists are coming back for another round of interviews.
- Ophthalmology Chair- First round of interviews completed. Seven semi-finalists are coming for on-site interviews.
- Molecular Cell & Cancer Biology Chair- Search Committee has met to review prospective candidates. The committee will meet in December to discuss next steps and finalize who will be coming for first round interviews.

Dr. Flotte announced that the progress for the establishment of the UMass Chan Lahey Regional Campus has been moving along well. The first round of faculty appointments were approved. Many of these faculty are engaged in the admissions interviewing process for the first cohort of medical

students coming in for the LEAD at Lahey track. There are 25 medical students coming in for the fall of 2024. They will follow a model similar to the PURCH track at Baystate where they'll have their pre-clinical years on the Worcester campus and their last 2 years of clinical training at the Lahey campus. There has been some ramping up of students who are central track in Worcester who have opportunities to rotate for individual rotations for 4 or 8 weeks at Lahey as they would at other teaching partner sites like St. Vincent's or Milford. The actual Lahey track will begin with the 2024 class. Dr. Flotte thanked those who have been expanded their efforts to enable the opportunity to give more students to get a UMass Chan medical education.

Dr. Flotte announced that the TH Chan School of Medicine VISTA curriculum is now in their MS 2 year, which is going to go through the early part of next year before they enter into the exploration phase. There has been very positive feedback from both the students and faculty about the VISTA rollout.

### **BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES**

Having determined a quorum was met, the meeting minutes from September were approved.

### **PRESENTATIONS**

TH Chan School of Medicine Bylaws Revision: Dr. Ahn

Dr. Ahn presented the proposed revision to the TH Chan School of Medicine Bylaws and the timeline for the process.

# Office of Faculty Affairs- A Year in Review: Dr. Ahn

Dr. Ahn gave a presentation on Office of Faculty Affairs and a year in review of accomplishments.

Meeting adjourned.