

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

James Munro, PhD, Vice Chair James.Munro@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES September 7, 2023

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-		Non-Voting Members-	
Sadasivam, Rajani (Chair)	Almeida, Sandra	Hamar, Benjamin	Abraham, George	Kedian, Tracy
Walker, Amy	Alvarez, Lulu/Osa-Agbontean, E.	Hamzei-Sichani, Farid	Acosta, Alan	Lanzillotti, Patricia
	Aronowitz, Jesse	Kakouros, Nikolaos	Ahn, Mary	Lane, Mary Ellen
	Barsamian, Nancy	Kamil, Syed	Alexander, Jacob	Larkin, Anne
	Benanti, Jennifer	Korostelev, Andrei	Berryman, Jennifer	Lewis, Brian
	Binder, Zach	Li, Shaoguang	Catanzano, Tara	Linstedt, John
	Blehar, David	Matheos, Theofilos	Chakrabarti, Parth	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Bolon, Daniel	Menard, Alexander	Collins, Michael	Maki, Kristen
	Bucci, Vanni	Mitchell,Amir	Dickson, Eric	Mattocks, Kristin
	Chu, Sherman	Moore, Phoebe	Duncan, Marlina	McMaster, Erin
	Cleveland, Sarah/Huang, Judy	Moorman, Anne	Fino, Mireli	Munshi, Nishkruti
	Curtin, Carol	Reboldi, Andrea	Flotte, Terence	Piorun, Mary
	Dang, Ivy/Yee, Matthew	Sharif, Rifat	Garcia, Maria	Plasse, Mechelle
	Day, Philip	Thomson, Travis	Gebhardt, James	Potts, Stacy
	Fantasia, Jennifer	Timpson, Wendy	Giannaris, Lela	Precourt, Justin
	Feeney, Susan	Trivedi, Chinmay	Grunwald, Michael	Rosal, Milagros
	Garwood, Elizabeth	Wessolosky, Mireya	Hayes, John	Vitello, Joan
		Whitley, Sarah	Johnson, Mark	

Dr. Sadasivam called the meeting to order.

STANDING REPORTS

Chancellor Updates

Dr. Collins announced that the Advancing Together brand was launched on September 6th. There have been plans to change the website for a long time. Over the past year, there was a lot of thinking about how we could encapsulate what is so special about UMass Chan, which is our superpowers, if you will, of collaboration and collegiality. The website has some videos we've created to give a sense of how we're going to take advantage of that in the year ahead.

Convocation week starts this week. Some events include:

- September 8th- White Coat Ceremony at the Hanover Theater
- September 11th- the 11th annual LGBT Convocation Welcome Celebration, sponsored by the Diversity and Inclusion Office, will be held virtually at noon.
- September 11th- the Tan Chingfen Graduate School of Nursing students in the Graduate Entry Pathway (GEP) program will be ceremonially presented with their nursing pins and welcomed into the nursing community by campus leaders. The program begins at 6 p.m.
- September 12th- second-year Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) students from the Tan Graduate School of Nursing who are entering their clinical years will be presented with their white coats during the Transition into Clinical Practice ceremony.
- September 13th- the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences community hold their Recognition Ceremony to celebrate the students who have successfully completed their qualifying exam and are proceeding with thesis research in the lab of their faculty advisor.
- September 14th- starting at 4 p.m., Chancellor Collins will present the annual Convocation address to the UMass Chan community in a ceremony celebrating faculty. Chancellor's Medals for Distinguished Teaching, Distinguished Scholarship, Distinguished Service and Distinguished Clinical Excellence will be presented.
- Immediately after Convocation, the following faculty members will be honored and invested as named professors, and the donors who endowed the positions will also be honored.
 - Andres Schanzer, MD, professor of surgery, chief of the Division of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, and professor of population & quantitative health sciences, will be appointed the inaugural holder of the *Cutler Chair in Vascular and Endovascular Surgery*.
 - **Michael A. Brehm, PhD**, associate professor of molecular medicine, principal investigator of the UMass Chan Diabetes Center of Excellence and co-director of the humanized mouse core facility, will be appointed the inaugural holder of the *Harvey A*. *Shultz Chair in Diabetes*.

- Sharon B. Cantor, PhD, professor of molecular, cell & cancer biology, will be appointed to the *Gladys Smith Martin Chair in Oncology*.
- Vaikom S. Mahadevan, MD, professor of medicine and chief of the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, will be appointed the *Edward Budnitz*, *MD*, *Professor in Cardiovascular Medicine*.

Dr. Collins announced the new department chair appointments:

- Dr. Danny Winder- incoming chair of neurobiology. Dr. Collins thanked Dr. Budnik for her leadership over the past 8 years.
- Dr. Beth McCormick- new chair of the Department of Microbiology and Physiological Systems. Dr. Collins thanked Dr. Jacobson for his leadership of MaPS.
- Dr. Stauff- new chair of the Department of Orthopedics and Physical Rehabilitation. Dr. Collins thanked Dr. Stauff for the work he did as the interim chair.

Dr. Collins announced the next virtual Town Hall meeting will be held on September 19th. It'll be very a full agenda, and we'll be discussing presentation of the Diversity engagement survey results.

Dr. Collins announced that the next Board of Trustees meeting will be held on September 21st. There are a number of new endowed chair and awards of tenure that will be approved at that meeting.

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Updates

Dr. Ahn gave a brief presentation for her updates.

PRESENTATIONS

Faculty Council Non-Voting Membership & Rules Committee Members Election: Dr. Sadasivam

Dr. Sadasivam presented the list of the proposed non-voting members for the academic year. Motion to approve; approved

Dr. Sadasivam presented the slate of the change to the Officers for Faculty Council. The Officers are:

- Chair- Rajani Sadasivam
- Vice Chair- Amy Walker
- Secretary- Susan Feeney
- Rules Committee Member- vacant

Motion to approve; approved

Establishment of the Lahey Regional Campus Departments: Dr. Ahn

Dr. Ahn gave a presentation on the establishment of the new Lahey Regional Campus Departments. Motion to endorse; motion approved

Establishment of the Department of Genomics & Computational Biology: Dr. Weng

Dr. Weng gave a presentation on the establishment of the new Department of Genomics & Computational Biology. Motion to endorse; motion approved

Establishment of the Frontotemporal Dementia Research Center: Dr. Gao

Dr. Gao gave a presentation on the establishment of the new Frontotemporal Dementia Research Center. Motion to endorse; motion approved

Guidelines for Appropriate Use of Generative AI-Powered Tools: Dr. Ahn

Dr. Ahn gave a presentation on the Guidelines for Appropriate Use of Generative AI-Powered Tools.

Meeting adjourned.