Educational Policy Committee (T.H. Chan School of Medicine)

Annual Update to Faculty Council

Erin McMaster, MD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Chair, Educational Policy Committee (SOM)



- Review the function and structure of the EPC
- Action Items for 2023
- Plans for 2024

Objectives



- "Legislative Branch" for Curriculum & Educational Policy Governance for the M.D. Program
- Report directly to the Dean
- Central role in curriculum review, curriculum development, educational innovation, and accreditation
- Voting seats include
 - One representative from each basic and clinical science department
 - Baystate, Faculty-at-large, Alumni Association, Affiliates Sites
 - Student representatives
- Non-voting seats include
 - Dean, Senior Associate Dean, Associate Deans, Assistant Deans
- EPC Leadership Team
 - Chair Erin McMaster, MD
 - Vice Chair Lela Giannaris, PhD
 - EPS Victoria Cohen, MPP



Function and Structure of the Educational Policy Committee

Education Policy Committee

Departmental representatives

EPC Rules (Steering)

Curriculum Committee Chairs and Co-Chairs

FOM 1
Curriculum
Committee
2 faculty cochairs

FOM 2
Curriculum
Committee
2 faculty cochairs

CCE
Curriculum
Committee
2 faculty cochairs

AS Curriculum Committee 2 faculty cochairs

Longitudinal
Themes Curriculum
Committee
2 faculty co-chairs

Clerkship Directors Committee

LInC Model

Education Policy Committee

Departmental representatives

EPC Rules (Steering)

Curriculum Committee Chairs and Co-Chairs

Discovery Curriculum Committee

2 faculty cochairs 1 student cochair

Explorations Curriculum Committee

2 faculty cochairs 1 student cochair

Horizons Curriculum Committee

2 faculty cochairs 1 student cochair

Assessment Committee

2 faculty cochairs 1 resident cochair

Longitudinal Themes Curriculum Committee

2 faculty co-chairs 1 student co-chair

Required Rotations SubGroup

2 Vice Chairs from Explorations and Horizons

Vista Model



Seat	Voting Member
Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine	Mark Dershwitz, MD
Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology	William Royer, PhD
Dermatology	Patrick Mulvaney, MD
Emergency Medicine	Jennifer Carey, MD
Family Medicine & Community Health	Mike Ennis, MD
Genomics and Computational Biology	Jill Moore, PhD
Medicine	Pang Yen Fan, MD
Microbiology and Physiological System	Rachel Gerstein, PhD
Molecular, Cell, and Cancer Biology	William Strohsnitter, PhD
Obstetrics and Gynecology	Dhivya Kannabiran MD
Orthopedics & Physical Rehabilitation	Marcy Jones, MD
Otolaryngology	Arvin Badhey, MD
Pathology	Thomas Smith, MD
Pediatrics	Kerri Gosselin, MD
Quantitative Health Sciences	Eric Mick, PhD
Psychiatry	Anya Bernstein, MD
Radiation Oncology	Eric Ko, MD
Radiology	Maria Barile, MD
Surgery	Jim Carroll, MD
TranslationalAnatomy	Maged Soliman, MD
Urology	Jennifer Yates, MD
Medical Students	Zahin Ahmed, Tyler Long, Ben Potee
Baystate	Liza Smith MD, Kristin Dardano, MD, Raquel Belforti, MD
Faculty-at-Large	David Hatem MD, Sue Gagliardi, PhD
Alumni Council	Nancy Skehan, MD

Educational Policy Committee Voting Membership AY 23/24

- Monthly Meetings
- 1st Monday 12:30-1:30pm
- Open to the UMass Chan Community



- Revised Course and Clerkship reports, developed Theme based reports
 - Tracking of key LCME metrics
 - Highlighting Student Satisfaction Survey areas of opportunity
 - Integration of Longitudinal Focus Topics
- Revised Subcommittee reports tracking same metrics
- Underperforming Course QI Process
- Approval of Explorations phase of Vista Curriculum, New FM AI experience
- Approval of Lead@Lahey Pathway Curriculum
- Annual EPC Retreat May 2023
 - Assessment focused
- Increased student leadership on subcommittees
- Policy revisions Absence, Admissions, Step 2



EPC Action Items 2023

- Annual report from Office of Educational Affairs
- Annual Student Satisfaction Survey report
 - Student Focus Groups
- Annual Standards of Respect report
- Annual course/clerkship/theme reports to respective subcommittee
- Annual reports from each EPC Subcommittee
- EPC Retreat
 - Fall 2024
 - Focus on Engaged Learning Strategies
- Horizons phase presentations
- Incorporation of Lahey faculty and students
- Enhanced student communication



EPC Plans 2024