

Amy Walker, PhD, Chair Amy Walker@umassmed.edu

Susan Feeney, DNP, APRN, Vice Chair Susan.Feeney@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES November 7, 2024

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-		Non-Voting Members-	
Walker, Amy (Chair)	Abdennur, Nezar	MacLean, Ashley	Abraham, George	Johnson, Mark
Feeney, Susan (Vice Chair)	Almeida, Sandra	Matheos, Theofilos	Acosta, Alan	Kedian, Tracy,
Lauer, Emily (Secretary)	Amenta, Peter	Mitchell, Amir	Ahn, Mary	Lane, Mary Ellen
	Aronowitz, Jesse	Moormann, Ann	Alexander, Jacob	Lanzillotti, Patricia
	Benanti, Jennifer	Reboldi, Andrea	Berryman, Jennifer	Larkin, Anne
	Binder, Zach	Sadasivam, Rajani	Catanzano, Tara	Lewis, Brian
	Blehar, David	Thomson, Travis	Chakrabarti, Partha	Lindstedt, John
	Bolon, Daniel	Timpson, Wendy	Chisholm, Brendan	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Bucci, Vanni	Wessolossky, Mireya	Collins, Michael	Maki, Kristen
	Chan, Wayne	Whitley, Sarah	Dickson, Eric	Mattocks, Kristin
	Crist, Michelle	Bouzan, Nicole K	Duncan, Marlina	McMaster, Erin
	Day, Philip	Anandakugan, Nillani	Fino, Mireli	Munshi, Nishkurit
	Fantasia, Jennifer	Shank, Elizabeth	Flotte, Terence	Munson, Mary
	Gkrouzman, Elena	Menard, Alexander	Garcia, Maria	Piorun, Mary
	Hamar, Benjamin	Huang, Judy	Gebhardt, James	Plasse, Mechelle
	Kamil, Syed	Osa-Agbontaen, Elizabeth	Giannaris, Eustathia Lela	Potts, Stacy
	Korostelev, Andrei	Hill, Cheyann	Green, Emily	Precourt, Justin
_	Li, Shaoguang	Waweru, Jacqueline /	Grunwald, David	Rosal, Milagros
	Lindholm, Mary		Hayes, John	Vitello, Joan
			Healy, James	

Dr. Amy Walker called the meeting to order.

STANDING REPORTS

Chancellor's Updates

Dr. Collins congratulated Dr. Victor Ambrose on his receipt of the Nobel Prize in medicine, an exciting and wonderful accomplishment. We recognize how important his receipt of the Nobel Prize is for our medical school. In the first three days after the Nobel Prize award was announced, the medical school website received 1.6 billion hits.

Dr. Collins announced a \$5 million philanthropic gift from UMass Memorial Health and \$2.5 million in matching funds from the University of Massachusetts Foundation that will allow UMass Chan to establish five new 'UMass Memorial Health' endowed chairs. UMass Chan will formally celebrate these five distinguished clinical department leaders during a special Investiture Ceremony later this year. The inaugural holders of the five new UMass Memorial Health chairs are:

- A.M. Barrett, MD, chair and professor of neurology, for appointment to the UMass Memorial Chair in Neurology.
- Thomas J. FitzGerald, MD, chair and professor of radiation oncology, for appointment to the UMass Memorial Chair in Radiation Oncology.
- M. Diane McKee, MD, chair and professor of family medicine & community health since 2019, will be the inaugural holder of the UMass Memorial Ledwith Chair in Family and Community Medicine.
- Max P. Rosen, MD, MPH, chair and professor of radiology, has been named to the UMass Memorial Chair in Radiology.
- J. Matthias Walz, MD, chair and professor of anesthesia & perioperative medicine, has been named to the UMass Memorial Kaur Chair in Anesthesia and Perioperative Medicine.

Dr. Collins announced that the Board of Trustees also approved the establishment of the following endowed chairs and faculty appointments. The ceremony will be held in the Sherman Center Auditorium, November 20^{th} at 4:00 pm.

- Anil Chandraker, MD, professor of medicine and chief of the Division of Renal Medicine in the Department of Medicine, is the inaugural holder of the Jack M. Wilson Chair in Biomedical Research.
- Stephenie C. Lemon, PhD, professor of population & quantitative health sciences and chief of the Division of Preventive and Behavioral Medicine, is the new holder of the Barbara Helen Smith Chair in Preventive and Behavioral Medicine.
- Fernando Martinez, MD, MS, professor of medicine, academic chief of the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine and inaugural vice chair for clinical and translational research in the Department of Medicine, is the inaugural holder of the Joseph D. Early Chair in Biomedical Research.

- Oliver Rando, MD, PhD, professor of biochemistry & molecular biotechnology, is the inaugural holder of the Endowed Chair in Biochemistry and Molecular Biotechnology I.
- Dorothy Schafer, PhD, associate professor of neurobiology, is the inaugural holder of the UMass Chan Medical School Chair in Biomedical Research I.
- Paul Thompson, PhD, professor of biochemistry & molecular biotechnology and director of the Program in Chemical Biology, is the inaugural holder of the Endowed Chair in Biochemistry and Molecular Biotechnology II.

Dr. Collins announced a new department chair appointment: Dr. Christopher Teng will be the incoming chair for the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences. He also expressed his appreciation for Dr. Johanna Seddon, who served as Interim Chair of the department since January 2023.

Dr. Collins congratulated Dr. Will Flavahan who received an NIH Director's New Innovator Award. This is a prestigious five-year 1.5-million-dollar grant initiative designed to support exceptionally creative early-stage investigators who propose highly innovative research projects with the potential to impact areas important to NIH's mission. Dr. Flavahan proposes to build upon a technique developed in his lab to generate comprehensive "training libraries" of DNA and RNA modifications that will expand the capabilities of third-generation sequencing for multi-dimensional genome and transcriptome analysis.

Dr. Collin's also congratulated the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs, Professor Mary Ahn, along with the Vice Provost for Health Equity Professor Milagros Rozal for completing the 2024 Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine fellowship at Drexel University College of Medicine this year.

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Updates

Dr. Ahn gave a brief presentation for her updates.

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES

Having determined a quorum was met, the meeting minutes from September were approved.

PRESENTATIONS

Establishment Department of Genetic and Cellular Medicine: Dr. Gao

Dr. Gao gave a presentation on the establishment of the new Department of Genetic and Cellular Medicine Motion to endorse; motion approved

Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Curriculum Committee Report: Dr. Grunwald

Dr. Grunwald gave a presentation on the GSBS Curriculum Committee's courses approved, courses in progress and related program development.

Meeting adjourned.