

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES November 21, 2024

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Voting Members- Chairs		Voting Members- Other	Non-Voting Members-	
Allison, Jeroan, MD	McKee, Diane, MD, MS	Feeney Susan, DNP, APNR	Acosta, Alan, PhD	Garcia, Maria, MD
Aquino, Patrick, MD	McManus, David	Flotte, Terence, MD	Ahn, Mary, MD	Green, Emily, PhD, MA
Baldor, Robert, MD	Moore-Simas, Tiffany, MD, MPH, Med	Grunwald, David, PhD	Artenstein, Andrew, MD	Hayes, John
Barrett, AM, MD	Rhein, Lawrence, MD, MPH	Lane, Mary Ellen, PhD	Belforti, Raquel, DO	Healy, James, JD
Boney, Charlotte, MD	Rock, Kenneth, MD	McMaster, Erin, MD	Berryman, Jennifer	Hinchey, Kevin, MD
Brown, Calvin, MD	Rosen, Max, MD	Osa-Agbontaen, Elizabeth, RN	Boudreaux, Edwin, PhD	Kedian, Tracy, MD
Davis, Roger, PhD	Sankey, Heather, MD	Plasse, Mechelle, PhD, APRN	Brad Schultz i	Larkin, Anne, MD
FitzGerald, Thomas J. MD	Sarvet, Barry, MD	Vitello, Joan, RN, PhD	Brownawell, Carolyn, MBA	Lewis, Brian, PhD
Gemme, Seth, MD	Schiffer, Celia, PhD	Walker, Amy, PhD	Catanzano, Tara, MD	Lindstedt, John, CPA
Haessler, Sarah, MD, MS	Seddon, Johanna, MD, ScM		Chakrabarti, Parth, MPH, MBA	Luzuriaga, Katherine, MD
Harris, John, MD	Sokoloff, Mitchell, MD, FACS		Chisholm, Brendan	Mattocks, Kristin, PhD, MPH
Heim, Kurt, MD	Srinivasan, Jayashri		Collins, Michael MD	Menard, Alexander, MS, ANP-BC
Hicks, Richard, MD	Stain, Steven, MD		Colombo, Lisa, DNP, MHA, RN	Moffatt-Bruce, Susan, MD, PhD
Jabbour, Nicolas, MD	Stauff, Michael, MD		Dickson, Eric, MD, MHCM	Mosenthal, Anne, MD, FACS
Johnson, Mark, MD, PhD	Vieira, Peter, MD (interim)		Duncan, Marlina, EdD	Munson, Mary, PhD
Kaufman, Michael, MD	Volturo, Gregory, MD		Emerson, Charles, PhD	Potts, Stacy, MD
Keitz, Sheri, MD	Wald, Christoph, MD		Erwin, John, MBA	Precourt, Justin (interim)
Kelliher, Michelle, PhD	Walhout, Marian, PhD		Fino, Mireli, MBA	Rosal, Milagros, PhD
Khan, Ashraf, MD	Walz, Matthias, MD		Fischer, Melissa, MD, MEd	Sell, Peter, MD
Kim, Daniel, MD	Weng, Zhiping, PhD		Fitzgerald, Kate, PhD	Sena Esteves, Miguel, PhD
Lindenauer, Peter, MD	Winder, Danny, PhD		Frazier, Jean, MD	Shank, Elizabeth, PhD
Litwin, Demetrius, MD	Yonkers, Kimberly, MD		Friedmann, Peter, MD, MPH	Thompson, Paul, PhD
McCormick, Beth, PhD	Zamore, Phillip, PhD		Gao, Guangping, PhD	Weaver, David, PhD

Dr. McKee called the meeting to order.

STANDING REPORTS

Chancellor's Updates

Chancellor Collins announced that this is the last week of the UMass Chan Cares Giving campaign, which is run by the University. The campaign provides the Medical School with the opportunity to come together to demonstrate support for our community. We have been raising about \$200,000 a year and the drive usually runs until Thanksgiving. The campaign supports very important programs, like putting washers and dryers in schools along with food pantries. These programs allow students to go home with clean clothes and a bag of food. There is also a student financial aid fund, research fund and a DEI fund or you can donate to any of the hundreds and hundreds of organizations listed.

Dr. Collins announced some wonderful news about our exceptional medical school. For the third year in a row, UMass Chan Medical School is the only college or university to be named to The Boston Globe's list of the Top Places to Work in Massachusetts.

Provost Updates

Dr. Flotte personally congratulated the new endowed chairs. He also announced that Jen Berryman has organized an opportunity for everyone to watch the official Nobel Prize ceremony conveying the prize medals. The ceremony will be live streamed in the Sherman Center Auditorium on Tuesday December 10th at 10:00am local time. The celebration will also be available on YouTube.

Dr. Flotte announced that the new Ophthalmology Chair, Chris Teng, will be starting his new position at UMass Chan on January 13th, and that Richard Gregory the new Chair of Molecular, Cell and Cancer Biology will start his new position in December.

Dr. Flotte also announced that after a decade of dedicated service, Jean Frazier MD, the Robert M. and Shirley S. Siff Chair in Autism and professor of psychiatry will be stepping down as the Executive Director of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver Center in January, to devote more time to her research. It is a pleasure to announce that Sarabeth Broder-Fingert, MD, MPH, professor of pediatrics and vice chair of clinical research in the Department of Pediatrics, who currently serves as the deputy director of the Shriver Center, will assume the executive director position on Jan. 1.

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Updates

Dr. Ahn gave a presentation on the Chancellor's Medals Call for Nominations for 2025. In the spirit of the Thanksgiving Celebration, she thanked all the successful individuals mentioned by Drs. Collins and Flotte, as well as all the people of the UMass Community that stepped up this year.

Dr. Ahn shared a data slide that summarized the total appointments at Umass Chan Leahy. A staggering 301 appointments have gone through in AY2023 and AY2024, amazing data. Dr. Ahn thanked the Umass Chan Worcester campus departmental chairs and staff, who stepped up, and assisted with appointments before Lahey was fully established. She also thanked the DPACs and DPAC chairs at both UMass Chan and UMass Chan-Lahey, as well as the University Personnel Action Committee who reviews all of the Umass Chan appointments and promotions, for Umass Chan Worcester, Umass Chan-Baystate and Umass Chan-Lahey.

Dr. Ahn announced that on January 31st the call for nominations will go out for the Chancellor's Medals. These prestigious awards are presented at the Convocation Investiture Ceremony in March each academic year, and there are 4 medals given to faculty, a medal for clinical excellence, distinguished scholarship, distinguished service and distinguished teaching.

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE:

Meeting Minutes

Having determined a quorum was met, the September minutes were approved.

PRESENTATIONS

Chan Fellows Program

Dr. Kate Fitzgerald presented on the UMass Chan Early Independence Fellows Program.

Establishment Department of Genetic and Cellular Medicine

Dr. Guangping Gao gave a presentation on the establishment of the new Department of Genetic and Cellular Medicine. Motion to endorse; motion approved

Meeting adjourned.

ADJOURNMENT

Dr. McKee called for a motion to adjourn. Motion approved.