Inaugural Albert Sherman Center Scientific Symposium on Oct. 10

Two Nobel Laureates to headline a celebration of science

By Ellie Castano

UMass Medical School Communications

October 09, 2013
   ASC Cropped Exterior

Two Nobel Laureates are slated to headline as the UMass Medical School scientific community comes together in a celebration of science. The inaugural Albert Sherman Center Scientific Symposium will take place in the state-of-the-art facility dedicated to collaboratively solving complex biomedical science problems and finding cures for diseases. The symposium on Thursday, Oct. 10, begins at 1 p.m. in the ASC auditorium.

Joseph L. Goldstein, MD, and Michael S. Brown, MD, of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1985 for their discoveries concerning the regulation of cholesterol metabolism. They discovered the low density lipoprotein (now known commonly as LDL) receptor and worked out how these receptors control cholesterol homeostasis. This work opened the field of receptor-mediated endocytosis and helped lay the conceptual groundwork for development of statins.

Dr. Goldstein will present Scap: Anatomy of a Sterol Sensor Part 1 and Dr. Brown will present Scap: Anatomy of a Sterol Sensor Part 2. Goldstein is chair of the Department of Molecular Genetics and Brown is professor of molecular genetics and director of the Jonsson Center for Molecular Genetics.

John E. Ware Jr., PhD, will present The Impact of Health Care: Quantifying the Voice of the Patient. Dr. Ware is professor and chief of the Outcomes Measurement Division in the Department of Quantitative Health Sciences at UMMS. He is an international leader on health outcomes assessment and is among the most highly cited authors in the field.

Robert S. Langer, ScD, institute professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will present Controlled Drug Delivery and Tissue Engineering for Angiogenesis Inhibitors. Dr. Langer, whose research focuses on nanotechnology, is developing new nanoparticles to treat cancer and other diseases.

Chancellor Michael F. Collins and Dean Terence R. Flotte will open the program with welcome remarks and introductions of the scientific presenters.

The symposium will be followed by a reception at 5:15 p.m. in the ASC Cube and adjacent foyer.