

Faculty Council Richard Pavao, MD, Chair

M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES October 7, 2021

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members-		Non-Voting	
			Members-	
Pavao, Richard (Chair)	Agnello, Emily	Michas, Maria	Abbott, Mary	Larkin, Anne
Sadasivam, Rajani (Vice Chair)	Aronowitz, Jesse	Mills, Huan	Ahn, Mary	Linstedt, John
Munro, James	Blehar, David	Moore, Phoebe	Berryman, Jennifer	Luzuriaga, Katherine
Walker, Amy	Bolon, Daniel	Peterson, Kenneth	Chakrabarti, Parth	Maki, Kristen
	Burnett, C/Suh, L	Plasse, Mechelle	Collins, Michael	Mandrekar, Pranoti
	Chu, Sherman	Pryciak, Peter	DeMarco, Deborah	Mattocks, Kristin
	Curtin, Carol	Reboldi, Andrea	Dickson, Eric	McMaster, Erin
	Faustina, Misha	Sharif, Rifat	Duncan, Marlina	Piorun, Mary
	Francis, Michael	Slosar-Cheah, Magdalena	Fain, James	Rosal, Milagros
	Garwood, Elizabeth	Song, Jie	Florence, Roxanne	Vitello, Joan
	Hamar, Benjamin	Trivedi, Meghna	Flotte, Terence	
	Kakouros, Nikolaos	Wessolosky, Mireya	Gottlieb, Amy	
	Kamil, Syed	Wolfe, Scot	Gustafson, Michael	
	Korostelev, Andrei	Wylie, Falgun	Hayes, John	
	Learnard, H		Lane, Mary Ellen	
	Long-Bellil, Linda		Lanzillotti, Patricia	

Dr. Pavao called the meeting to order.

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES

Having determined a quorum was met, the meeting minutes from September were approved.

STANDING REPORTS

Dean & Provost Update

On behalf of the Chancellor, Dr. Flotte started the meeting off by acknowledging that this was the first time the Faculty Council has met after the announcement of the major gift of \$175 million from the Morningside Foundation on behalf of the Chan Family. The gift was presented to UMass Medical School on September 9, 2021. The gift will be paid out over five years and the endowment will grow over time as an investment in the Medical School. In honor of the Chan family, the school's name has officially changed to UMass Chan Medical School. He also congratulated Chancellor Collins on his work with Gerald Chan to make it all happen.

In the last meeting, Dr. Marian Walhout delivered a presentation on the Systems Biology program. The program has since been elevated to the status of an academic department and Dr. Walhout now serves as its Chair.

Dr. Celia Schiffer has been newly appointment as Chair of Biochemistry. The academic department's new name is Biochemistry and Molecular Biotechnology. She is a past recipient of the Chancellor's Medal for Mentoring.

AGENDA ITEMS

FACULTY ASSEMBLY OVERVIEW

Dr. Parvao defined the functions and membership of both the Faculty Assembly and the Faculty Council. The Faculty Assembly is the governing body of the TH Chan School of Medicine (SOM). The Faculty Council is the governing body of the UMass Chan Medical School (Campus).



Faculty Council
Richard Pavao, MD, Chair
M.Richard.Pavao2@umassmeomorial.org

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD, Vice Chair Rajani.Sadasivam@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

The Faculty Assembly voting membership is comprised of voting members of the Faculty Council and the UMass Chan-Baystate faculty representatives.

PRESENTATION

Baystate Department: Healthcare Delivery & Population Health Sciences

Dr. Andrew Artenstein presented a proposal to the Faculty Council requesting the membership's endorsement of a new academic department at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate called the Department of Healthcare Delivery and Population Science. Motion to endorse; Motion accepted.

FACULTY ASSEMBLY and FACULTY COUNCIL VOTE

A motion was put forth to vote on the endorsement to establish a new Department of Healthcare Delivery and Population Science at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate. The new academic program was endorsed unanimously by the attending members of the Faculty Assembly and the Faculty Council.