

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES November 16, 2023

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Voting Members- Chairs		Voting Members- Other	Non-Voting Members-	
Allison, Jeroan, MD	McManus, David, MD	Flotte, Terence, MD	Acosta, Alan, PhD	Harlan, David, MD
Baldor, Robert, MD	Moore Simas, Tiffany, MD, MPH	Grunwald, David	Ahn, Mary, MD	Hayes, John
Barrett, AM, MD	Rathlev, Niels, MD	Lane, Mary Ellen, PhD	Artenstein, Andrew, MD	Hinchey, Kevin, MD
Boney, Charlotte, MD	Rhein, Lawrence, MD, MPH	McMaster, Erin, MD	Berryman, Jennifer	Kedian, Tracy, MD
Budnik, Vivian, PhD	Rock, Kenneth, MD	Plasse, Mechelle, PhD	Chakrabarti, Parth, MD, MBA	Larkin, Anne, MD
Davis, Roger, PhD	Rosen, Max, MD	Sadasivam, Rajani, PhD	Boudreaux, Edwin, PhD	Lewis, Brian, PhD
Feldmann, Edward, MD	Sankey, Heather, MD	Toye, Amelia, BS, RN	Brownawell, Carolyn, MBA	Lindstedt, John, CPA
FitzGerald, TJ, MD	Sarvet, Barry, MD	Walker, Amy, PhD	Catanzano, Tara, MD	Luzuriaga, Katherine, MD
Haessler, Sarah, MD, MS	Seddon, Johanna, MD, ScM	Vitello, Joan, RN, PhD	Collins, Michael F., MD	Mattocks, Kristin, PhD, MPH
Harris, John, MD, PhD	Schiffer, Celia, PhD		Colombo, Lisa, DNP, MHA, RN	Menard, Alexander, MS, ANP-C
Hicks, Richard, MD	Sokoloff, Mitchell, MD		Dickson, Eric, MD, MHCM	Moffatt- Bruce, Susan, MD, PhD
Jabbour, Nicolas, MD	Stauff, Michael, MD		Duncan, Marlina, EdD	Mosenthal, Anne, MD, FACS
Johnson, Mark, MD, PhD	Vieira, Peter, MD		Emerson, Charles, PhD	Munson, Mary, PhD
Kelliher, Michelle, PhD	Volturo, Gregory, MD		Erwin, John, MBA	Potts, Stacy
Khan, Ashraf, MD	Walhout, Marian, PhD		Fino, Mireli, MBA	Precourt, Justin
Kim, Daniel, MD	Walz, Matthias, MD		Fischer, Melissa, MD, Med	Rosal, Milagros, PhD
Litwin, Demetrius, MD	Yonkers, Kimberly, MD		Fitzgerald, Kate, PhD	Sell, Peter, MD
McKee, Diane, MD, MS	Zamore, Phillip, PhD		Frazier, Jean, MD	Thompson, Paul, PhD
McCormick, Beth, PhD			Friedmann, Peter, MD	Trivedi, Chinmay, MD, PhD
			Gao, Guangping, PhD	Weaver, David, PhD
			Garcia, Maria, MD	Wolf, Gregory
			Gerber, Jonathan, MD	

Dr. McManus called the meeting to order.

STANDING REPORTS

Provost Updates

Dr. Flotte welcomed Dr. Susan Moffatt-Bruce, President of Lahey Hospital and Medical Center and Professor of Surgery at UMass Chan Lahey.

Search Updates:

- Director of Program in Human Genetics & Evolutionary Biology- Close to finalizing the final candidate.
- Ophthalmology Chair- The search is progressing. Seven candidates are coming for on-site interviews.
- Molecular Cell & Cancer Biology Chair- Search Committee has met to review prospective candidates. The committee will meet in December to discuss next steps and finalize who will be coming for first round interviews.

Dr. Flotte announced that UMass Chan has been named a "spoke" of the Massachusetts ARPA-H hub. ARPA-H is a new federal agency modeled after DARPA in a contract delivery mode of health and biomedical research grants. ARPA-H has also implemented a very novel mechanism in that they don't have conventional study sections. Instead, they have program managers who have great authority to authorize and implement specific proposals. Information has been sent to the Department Chairs on how one can propose to ARPA-H a specific problem or grant challenge to be addressed. More information will be provided. Dr. Flotte will be assembling a working group that will regularize and pave the way for dissemination of projects through the various health systems that we partner with.

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE:

Meeting Minutes

Having determined a quorum was met, the September minutes were approved.

Executive Council Non-Voting Membership

Dr. McManus called for a motion to approve the non-voting membership for Dr. Susan Moffatt-Bruce, President of Lahey Hospital and Medical Center. Motion to approve; approved

PRESENTATIONS

Chancellor's Medals Call for Nominations: Dr. Ahn

Dr. Ahn gave a presentation on the Chancellor's Medals Call for Nominations for 2024.

Faculty Development Update: Dr. Green

Dr. Green gave a presentation on the new Faculty Development offerings.

Meeting adjourned.

ADJOURNMENTDr. McManus called for a motion to adjourn. Motion approved.