Honorary Degree Recipients

  • James E. Dalen, MD, MPH
  • Susan Hockfield, PhD

James E. Dalen, MD, MPHJames_Dalen

Dean Emeritus and Professor Emeritus,
The University of Arizona College of Medicine
Executive Director, Weil Foundation

A graduate of Washington State University and the University of Michigan, where he received a master’s degree in psychology, Dr. Dalen received his MD at the University of Washington. He subsequently received a MPH from Harvard.
     He completed his internship and residency in internal medicine at Boston City Hospital and the New England Medical Center. He then served a three-year fellowship in cardiology at Harvard at the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital. After completing his training, he was a member of the faculty of Harvard Medical School from 1967 to 1975, where he was Associate Professor of Medicine.
     In 1975, Dr. Dalen joined the faculty at the University of Massachusetts Medical School where he established the Department of Cardiovascular Medicine and then served as chair of the department from 1977 until 1988. From 1986 to 1987, he served as Interim Chancellor of the University of Massachusetts Worcester.
     Dr. Dalen was named Teacher of the Year of the Department of Medicine in 1982 and received Outstanding Clinical Educator Awards in 1981, 1982, and 1988. In 1987, he received the Distinguished Public Service Award from the University of Massachusetts.
     Dr. Dalen has been a member of the University of Arizona faculty since 1988. He served as Dean of the College of Medicine from 1988 to 2001, and Vice President for Health Sciences with responsibility for the colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Public Health from 1995 to 2001. During his tenure as Dean and Vice President, the University of Arizona College of Public Health, the Arizona Center for Integrative Medicine, and the Arizona Telemedicine Program were established.
     Currently, he is Dean Emeritus and Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Public Health and teaches in the colleges of Medicine and Public Health. In addition, he is Executive Director of the Weil Foundation which supports education in integrative medicine.
     Dr. Dalen was editor of the Archives of Internal Medicine and a member of the editorial board of the Journal of the American Medical Association. He currently is associate editor of the American Journal of Medicine.
     Dr. Dalen established and served as co-chairman for the ACCP Consensus Conference on Antithrombotic Therapy, which has resulted in the publication of eight CHEST Supplements since 1986. He is the author or co-author of more than 350 publications in the medical literature as well as 11 books and monographs.
     He has served as President of the American College of Chest Physicians, President of the New England Cardiovascular Society, Governor of the American College of Cardiology, and Governor of the American College of Physicians.
     In 1988, Dr. Dalen was named the University of Washington Distinguished Medical Alumnus of the Year and received the Alumni Achievement Award from Washington State University. In 2000, he received the College Medal from the American College of Chest Physicians for his contributions to the understanding of pulmonary embolism and was named a Master Fellow of the college. He is also a Master Fellow of the American College of Physicians. In 2010, he was awarded the Harvard School of Public Health’s highest honor for its alumni: the Alumni Award of Merit.

Susan Hockfield, PhDSusan_Hockfield

President Emerita,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Susan Hockfield has distinguished herself in a career that has spanned advanced scientific research and the presidency of one of the premier institutions of science and engineering in the world.
     After earning a B.A. in biology from the University of Rochester and a Ph.D. from Georgetown University at the School of Medicine, Dr. Hockfield was an NIH postdoctoral fellow at the University of California at San Francisco. She then joined the scientific staff at the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory in New York.
     Joining the faculty of Yale University, Dr. Hockfield focused her research on the development of the brain and on glioma, a deadly form of brain cancer, and pioneered the use of monoclonal antibody technology in brain research. She gained tenure and was later named the William Edward Gilbert Professor of Neurobiology.
     At Yale, Dr. Hockfield emerged as a strong, innovative university leader, first as dean of its Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, with oversight of more than 70 graduate programs, and then as provost, Yale’s chief academic and administrative officer.
     From December 2004 through June 2012, Dr. Hockfield served as the sixteenth president of MIT, where she continues to hold a faculty appointment as professor of neuroscience. As the first life scientist to lead MIT, she championed the breakthroughs emerging from the historic convergence of the life sciences with the engineering and physical sciences, in fields from clean energy to cancer.
     Despite her renown as a neuroscientist, her greatest accomplishments at MIT lay in another direction altogether: within a year of taking office, she inaugurated the MIT Energy Initiative, a massive research and education program to address one of the world's most pressing needs. Long an advocate for the research university as an engine of innovation and economic growth, Dr. Hockfield also worked to shape emerging national policy on energy technology and next-generation manufacturing. In June 2011, President Obama asked her to co-chair the steering committee of the Advanced Manufacturing Partnership.
     Dr. Hockfield was the first woman to lead MIT, a development welcome at an Institute where nearly half the undergraduates are women. A signature of her presidency was her vocal commitment to making MIT a leader in building diversity all along the pipeline of talent.
     An elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and an elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, she serves as a director of the General Electric Company and Qualcomm Incorporated, a member of the board of trustees of the Carnegie Corporation of New York, and a member of the board of overseers of the Boston Symphony Orchestra.
     Dr. Hockfield’s accomplishments have been recognized by the Charles Judson Herrick Award from the American Association of Anatomists, the Wilbur Lucius Cross Award from the Yale University Graduate School, the Meliora Citation from the University of Rochester, the Golden Plate Award from the Academy of Achievement, and the Amelia Earhart Award from the Women’s Union.
     Dr. Hockfield is currently serving as the Marie Curie Visiting Professor at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government. She lives in Cambridge with her husband, Thomas N. Byrne, MD. They have a grown daughter, Elizabeth.