Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Clinical Excellence (est. 2012)

  • Richard S. Irwin, MD
  • Oscar Starobin, MD

The award for clinical excellence is based on the candidate’s distinction/dedicated service as a clinician during the period of his or her association with UMW. Candidates for this medal should have had a substantial clinical practice – medical and/or nursing - over the course of their careers at UMW and serve as role models for peers, residents, and students in their provision of quality clinical care and in their interactions with all members of the health care team. The recipient of this award is invited to give the keynote address at the annual White Coat Ceremony.

(2013) Richard S. Irwin, MD, professor of medicine, for recognizing and promoting the impact of interdisciplinary teamwork on the health and well-being of patients in the critical care, acute care and ambulatory settings, and for pioneering leadership for the campus community.

(2012) Oscar Starobin, MD, professor of medicine and beloved Worcester physician, for being ever attentive to the needs of his patients while simultaneously being mindful of the determination of students and residents to learn.