Recognition Awards Honor UMMS Educators

April 14, 2010

 education recognition awards
 Krista Johansen, MD, Michele Pugnaire, MD, and Lisa Hall, PhD
The UMass Medical School community honored the institution’s educators at the 2010 Education Recognition Awards ceremony held on Tuesday, April 13. This annual ceremony, now in its 12th year, brings the campus together to celebrate achievements in teaching and mentoring, and exemplifies the Medical School’s supportive and collaborative learning environment.

The Graduate School of Nursing Dean’s Award was given to Maureen Wassef, RN, PhD, assistant professor, for her outstanding achievement in enhancing the curriculum of the Nurse Educator specialty program. The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Dean’s Award went to Robert J. Goldberg, PhD, professor of cardiovascular medicine, for his work directing the Master of Science in Clinical Investigation program for MDs, PhDs and DNPs interested in acquiring foundational skills for clinical research; and to Craig L. Peterson, PhD, professor of molecular medicine, and Neal S. Silverman, PhD, associate professor of infectious diseases and immunology, for their dedicated service as co-directors of the molecular genetics component of the Basic and Biomedical Sciences core curriculum, which provides the experimental fundamentals for thesis research and furnishes the foundations for the advanced curricula offered by individual programs.

The Lamar Soutter Award for Excellence in Medical Education was presented to Leslie J. Berg, PhD, professor of pathology, and Mark Madison, MD, professor of medicine and chief of the Pulmonary and Critical Care Division, for their exceptional contributions to education and curriculum development.


View slideshow


2010 Education Recognition Awards




Distinguished Faculty Award

for an outstanding educator who best exemplifies excellence in teaching
Graduate Entry Pathway – David Gammon, BSPh
Master’s – Lisa Ogawa, PhD, RN
Doctoral – Sean Collins, PhD, APRN-BC


Faculty Award

for outstanding contribution to curricular development
Alan L. Rothman, MD

for research mentoring and commitment to student professional advancement
Mark Alkema, PhD

for contributions in the lecture and classroom settings
Reid Gilmore, PhD
Ann R. Rittenhouse, PhD


Educational Achievement (Star) Award

for outstanding individual achievements in medical student education
Lisa Hall, PhD
Brian Sweeney, MD
James Crandall, PhD
, and Krista S. Johansen, MD

Outstanding Medical Educator Award

for best representing the medical profession and significantly contributing to students’ basic science education
David M. Clive, MD
Susan B. Gagliardi, PhD
Henri Cuénoud, MD
Anne M. Gilroy, MA
Krista S. Johansen, MD

Resident Educator Award

for outstanding teaching and mentoring by residents
Bryon Gentile, MD

Emeritus/Emerita Award for Excellence in Medical Education

for ongoing contributions by retired basic science and clinical faculty to the education of our medical students
Merrill K. (Ken) Wolf, MD

Patient as Teacher Award
for significant contribution to undergraduate medical education for five years of service
Jean and Edward Urbanowski