Upcoming Events

Office of the Chancellor

Sr. VP for the Health Sciences

Strategic Plan

Useful links

Office of the Chancellor
University of Massachusetts
Medical School suite S1-340
55 Lake Avenue North,
Worcester, Massachusetts 01655
508-856-8100 (telephone)
508-856-8181 (fax)

Directions to the campus





Chancellor’s Medals

Chancellor's Medal Group Pic 2012

These four annual faculty medals represent the highest achievements in Teaching, Scholarship, Service and Clinical Practice.  They are presented by the Chancellor at the beginning of each academic year. Faculty members in any of the three schools – School of Medicine, Graduate School of Nursing and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences – who hold the rank of associate professor or professor are eligible for nomination. 

Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Teaching

This medal is based on the candidate’s longstanding teaching contributions during the period of his or her association with UMMS. Candidates for this medal must have demonstrated the ability to teach effectively and evaluate diverse students in a range of courses and on a variety of levels, to adapt different modes of teaching to different learning situations, and to explore novel teaching methods. In addition to being excellent course instructors, candidates should have demonstrated excellence in related activities, such as advising and mentoring students, developing and assessing curricula, assessing student learning outcomes, and guiding junior faculty to develop their teaching skills. Nominations should provide evidence that the candidate’s teaching has fostered students’ personal, intellectual and professional development.

 Sheldon Benjamin


The 2013 recipient was Richard H. Glew, MD, Professor of Infectious Diseases and Immunology.

The 2012 recipient was Sheldon Benjamin, MD, Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology.
The 2011 recipient was William “Jerry” Durbin, MD, Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine.
The 2010 recipient was Susan B. Gagliardi, PhD, Professor of Cell Biology and Neurology.

Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Scholarship

This medal is based on the scholarly work that the candidate has presented to the public during the period of his or her association with UMMS. The candidate’s work must exhibit excellence as evidenced by its import and impact nationally and internationally. The assessment of peers, both internal and external to the campus, will carry particular weight in the medals process, as will extramural grant funding and publications in scholarly journals with high impact. In addition to being an excellent scholar, candidates should have demonstrated an ability to engage others in their work, e.g., graduate students.



The 2013 recipient was Thomas Grisso, PhD, Professor of Psychiatry.

The 2012 recipient was Roger J. Davis, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, H. Arthur Smith Chair in Cancer Research and Professor of Molecular Medicine and Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology.
The 2011 recipient was Michael R. Green, MD, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, the Lambi and Sarah Adams Chair in Genetic Research and Professor of Molecular Medicine and Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology. 
The 2010 recipient was Michael P. Czech, PhD, Professor and Chair of the Program in Molecular Medicine.

Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Service

This medal is based on the candidate’s service contributions during the period of his or her association with UMMS. Candidates for this medal should have provided service that is consistent with the mission of the academic health sciences center. The service activities should have made demonstrable, substantial and long-lasting contributions to the campus community (academic or clinical) or the community at large or to the candidate’s discipline or profession. This can include both exemplary clinical service and public service activities.



The 2013 recipient was Judith K. Ockene, MD, Professor of Preventive and Behavioral Medicine.

The 2012 recipient was Daniel H. Lasser, MD, MPH, Chair and Professor of Family Medicine & Community Health.
The 2011 recipient was Marianne E. Felice, MD, Chair and Professor of Pediatrics and Obstetrics & Gynecology.
The 2010 recipient was Vice Provost for Research John L. Sullivan, MD.

Chancellor’s Medal for Clinical Excellence

This medal reflects a record of excellence in clinical practice during faculty affiliation with UMMS and a sustained contribution to improvements in clinical care, as well as a history of serving as a role model for peers, residents and students in the provision of quality clinical care.



The 2013 recipient was Richard S. Irwin, MD, Professor of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine.

The 2012 recipient was Oscar Starobin, MD, Professor of Medicine.